Langdale and the ‘Firemyst Gully’ connection.

Langdale seemed full of himself today. Anyone would think that he is becoming a hero of Norrath the way he goes on!  I tried to explain to him while we were sharing a four stein jug of Berry Wine in Irontoes, that I was well aware of the fact he had attained his 20th season of adventuring but it still didn’t make him, as he put it, ‘like the fury of the Gods with a blade and bow’.  He didn’t seem to pleased when he overheard me muttering that he seemed more ‘like Londo the housemaid with a brush’ to me.  I really should have known better as he then went headlong in to a tirrade about ‘that Steadfast guy’ at the Antonica Claymore, who seemed to think he was a hero.  “He asked me to go in to Firemyst Gully yesterday”.  I knew what was coming.  If I thought he was like a house maid with a brush then he would ‘just a’bloody’bout show me’…”Mees is off to conquer ‘the Gully’, on mees own, Yis Yis!”.  He did it on purpose of course. He knew I would have to go with him. 

Meeting the Dwarf outside the gates did not do much to make me feel better.  If it’s not so bad in there Dwarf…why are you out here?  Langdale didn’t pause for an instant and shoved the doors open, and off we went inside.  The Dwarf outside, I never did catch his name..perhaps it was hiding behind his beard..said we should make contact with the Dwarves inside who would have some tasks for us. Didn’t sound too bad to me.  We had to slay a few undead to get to them and only when we did, did I realise what these tasks would be.   Langdale laughed as I exclaimed “Hold off a bloody Undead Army”, pointing in disbelief at Langdale and I…”Us two? are you kidding me?”. Well the dwarf nodded sobely then pointedly decided to ignore me and talk only to my rodent companion.

Langdale and the Dwarf plan our demise..

Langdale and ‘that bloody Dwarf’ plan our demise.

So, even though I had my doubts, we both went out in to ‘the field’ and began to slay undead.  Probably the most evil we encountered were some ghostly looking spiders. I can tell you now, even though I could hear Langdales manic giggles as we fought, they were pretty tough and I didn’t find them anywhere near as much fun as he did.  We were supposed to be removing some ‘Sigils of Undeath’. What this was supposed to achieve I really didn’t know and to be honest I could have done without getting too close to them. They were impaled figures on spikes!  All in all there were nine of them we had to get rid of.  This wasn’t so bad, as we slowly wound our way round the Gully removing undead and their Sigils as we went, avoiding some of the more nasty looking creatures especially some huge brute things near to some obelisks. 

Eventually, we had all of the Sigils apart from the last one. This one was in an awful looking skull like structure at the centre of the Gully.  Langdale suggested we try and sneak up as  there was bound to be something nasty lurking inside.  I agreed wholeheartedly. Now here’s the kicker..because I was in a huff when the Dwarf behind the barracade was talking to us..I kinda missed some important information. It turns out Langdale hadn’t,  but thought it would be ‘fun’ anyway to keep me in the dark on this one.  What I didn’t realise is that we were supposed to grab a shovel and a torch off another Dwarf in their enclave so we could dig up the corpses who would, when we approached the Skull hut be brought forth by the Undead Necromancer inside the hut.  The torch was also supposed to be used to burn corpses that lay on the ground and would be called forth just like the buried ones. Also…I hadn’t been told that those three huge brutes we had ignored by the obelisk type structures were actually there to prevent the Necromancer from getting hurt. I mean by magic and I mean hurt at all!  So even if we had defeated (and we didn’t even last a second) the fifty or so undead that poured on to us like acid spilt from an alchemists beaker, we would not have been able to hurt the evil spellbringer one little bit. 

I don’t think even Langdale was expecting what happened  and I honestly think he had over estimated the amount of ‘fun’ this would be as I cannot even scribe the language he used to the Dwarf when we went back to get the torches and the shovels.  There was mention of beards and mothers and paying for bed time, but that is as far as I can go recounting what he said. As it turns out, we didn’t need the equipment anymore.  All of the undead that had been summoned remained above the ground, so all it took was a short time…(ok maybe a long time) to clear all of the horrid creatures before we were ready for the Big Nasty himself.  The brutes by the way were not really that bad.  The were big, granted but their minions who accompanied them dropped fairly easily and then it was just a bit of an arduous battle to finish the brute off himself.

I waited the usual ten minutes or so while Langdale mercilessly taunted the Necromancer.  I even had time to grab a trail snack. Then he gave me the nudge and sent his first arrow flying.  What happened next was ugly but what battle isn’t? I think the thing that clinched us the victory was when Langdale sneaked up behind the vile creature and shoved both his shovel  and the lit torch up his behind. It created the distraction I needed to finish him off.  As a kindly consideration for the Dwarves and what they had just gotten us in to, Langdale suggested we present the dead body of the Necromancer to them ‘on a stick’ as he put it surveying the still inserted torch stump and shovel handle. They did however give us some rather nice weapons to compensate our efforts…which was nice..

Langdale and the Skull Hut..

Langdale and the Skull Hut, in a now totally Undead free gully..

Yis Yis! Langdale …out!

Published in: on June 12, 2007 at 9:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thelangdaleconnection.wordpress.com/2007/06/12/langdale-and-the-firemyst-gully-connection/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

